Posted by: Sai | March 28, 2012

42 days

Today I finally went to the track. The sun was shining and I had the morning off work, no excuse really. I asked Ally to write me a short programme to get back into the swing of things, which probably gave me about 5k at various speeds. I’m wondering if I’ll ache tomorrow, but it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting, from such a long time out of the chair. It’s not as if I haven’t exercised at all, but it’s certainly different to anything else I do.

Yesterday I received my confirmation letter from the 10k race organisers, so it’s all official now. I’m going to be number 211, which I collect on the night along with my chip. I’m glad it’s chip timed, as I’m not using any GPS or bike computer on the chair. I’m not fussed what my time is, but I would like to know. Worryingly, the wheelchair race starts only 5 minutes before the runners. I assume we’re on the same course, and I’m a little concerned that I’m going to get in the way of the faster runners.

I still haven’t tried pushing on a road, or the park. My feet hang quite low, so I need to make sure that they’re not going to hit anything if I go up/downhill or on uneven ground. I also need to figure out what I’m going to wear and buy a helmet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

