Posted by: Sai | November 29, 2011

Feeling the Cold

Firstly, sorry for the massive gap between posts. I’m sure I’ll hit my stride some time soon! Secondly, I have a confession – I haven’t been to the track in a month. This is partly because of work and partly because of the cold. I take my shoes off to get in the racer and, despite wearing hill walking socks over my regular socks, my feet throb from the cold. It’s been putting me off even trying in the day, and I really need to get back into a routine. I bought some new socks, which claim to be the best at keeping in heat. If that fails, I’ll get some hand warmers and put them on my feet :-)

Other than that I’ve actually been quite good at keeping up at the gym, and the odd weekend of basketball has been keeping me in training. It’s looking like my end of month scores are going to be fair – hopefully under 40% anyway. I’ve re-started the 100 Pushups Challenge, something I tried twice before but have had to stop due to a recurring problem with my left shoulder, possibly the rotator cuff. This time I’m going to throw in some rotator cuff exercises in an attempt to hold off any injuries, and repeat the week’s programme instead of pushing to get it done too quickly.

When I started to look into the possibility of racing I borrowed a book from Ally called Wheelchair Sport by Vicky Goosey-Tolfrey. It’s fairly new and therefore reasonably up to date with our understanding of the human body as well as the technology of various sports chairs. I’ve only just finished reading it and thought it was worth a mention as it’s really quite an interesting read. It covers racing, basketball, tennis, hand cycling and rugby, but with a large section on general exercise and training for people with disabilities.

Last but not least, I thought I’d just post a link to an article on the England Athletics website about our Wednesday night track meets. Despite me not making many of them, I still feel part of it, and I think it’s great that it’s turning into a real little club! From Percolators to Propulsion.

Leave a Reply

Categories

